Saying Goodbye

One of the hardest things to do, in my opinion, is to say goodbye to someone. Whether that someone is a significant other you are breaking up with, a relative moves away, someone passes away, saying goodbye is hard. I think it’s hard because you think about what that person has meant to you. As you go to say goodbye to that person all of their influences and memories come flooding back into your mind. The moment you say goodbye to that person you are leaving them physically, but hoping still that their memories or what you learned from them stay (assuming the memories or influences were good).

Sometimes, trying to imagine your life without that person in it can be scary. Anytime you say goodbye to someone who you have a strong relationship with you are essentially starting a new life. For instance, if you live in the same town as your sister, and you have built a solid relationship with her, it will feel like you starting over once someone leaves. Having to replace that void is scary. In a way, you don’t want to replace your sister, but in order to live a life of joy and fulfillment someone must take that place.

 I have often thought about how I will have to make new friends, find a new mentor, feel comfortable having lunch with someone new. It is definitely scary. However, I know that if I live my life afraid I cannot be happy. While on my honeymoon, I spoke to an older woman whose husband had been in the Army. She told me that life is too short. More importantly life in the military is too short. So, take every opportunity you can to see the things around you, experience the life there at your door. Really, don’t be too afraid to live the life you’ve chosen because your husband is not there with you every step of the way.

It will be hard venturing out on my own in a new place. However, I hoping with my own strength, the confidence I’ve been given from my life here, and the support of my husband, I will be able to do anything. I figure if I share this with you on here I am more likely to do these things as well. So, in a couple months, ask me how my kayaking has been going or what my kickboxing class has taught me. Hold me accountable for my dreams because I hold you accountable for who I am today.

What do you think?

