Vegetable Lasagna

Here it is, Vegetable Lasagna! For your favorite vegetarian or a meatless dinner night. It’s super easy, cheap, delicious, and stuffed full of greens! This recipe is meant to be very flexible, so have fun with this.  Use your pantry staples to build this lasagna, if you don’t have something, don’t worry, keep it out or substitute something else.

Vegetable Lasagna

marinara sauce
8 ounces mozzarella cheese, shredded
16 ounces cottage cheese
9 whole wheat lasagna noodles, uncooked (or try using zoodles)
approximately 4 cups raw veggies, chopped (I used tomato, green pepper, onion, fresh spinach, squash, zucchini)
2 cloves garlic, minced
basil

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Butter 8×11 dish. Mix cottage cheese, vegetables, and garlic.  Place 3 uncooked lasagna noodles in dish. Cover with sauce, 1/3 cheese mixture, 1/3 of the veggies, 1/3 mozzarella cheese. Repeat 2 more times. Cover tightly with foil. Bake 1 hour.

Do you try to incorporate meatless meals into your diet?

16 responses to “Vegetable Lasagna

  1. I will definitely try this. I know Paige will be up for it; not so sure about the guys. I like that you don't have to cook the noodles first. I always hated that about regular lasagna until I learned you don't have to cook them. I do add 1/4 cup of water though. I guess all the veggies provide the needed water here? Is the egg left out because it's vergetarian? Do you notice?

    Like

  2. haha, too funny!! You just want that Fall Giveaway! 😉
    Honestly, I've never made lasagna, except this recipe. I always made Grandma Ruthie's lasagna toss. So, no I don't notice the absence of egg, but you might. I do think the veggies give it enough moisture, maybe too much. Or maybe I just cut into it too soon. Let me know what you decide to do and how you like it.

    Like

  3. Wow! Looks like the competition is heating up! hahaha, j/k! Do we get to see the end result of the recipe, well after baking, I should say? I would think/hope your lasagna will beat out all those MREs! -Bri

    Like

  4. Woops, we've already eaten it! lol There is some left, but I don't think the leftovers will look too pretty. You know I thought about taking a picture after it was cooked, but Kevin gets pretty impatient with my food photography and I didn't want to push it tonight 😉
    By “combating” the MRE's, I didn't mean competing, I actually meant reversing what the MRE's have done (in other words, get some fiber in him). lol
    Mom, just don't say anything, see if he notices! Lasagna is so hearty anyway. If you tell him it's one of my recipes, he'll love it 🙂 Also, I found the noodles at the commissary, but I think I saw them at Target too.

    Like

  5. YAAAAAAYYY!!! My comment went through! Finally! I've been trying for 3 days! I downloaded firefox, because it's supposed to be a “safer” browser!! -Jess

    Like

  6. Oh yes, combating not competing, opppssss! So just thinking about you and Kev this morning! Hope your run went smoothly for you two! Did you run in any snow? -Bri

    Like

What do you think?

