Easy Crock Pot Applesauce

Applesauce is a typical kid’s food, right? I remember always having it as a kid. I love it still, and use it in baking. Homemade applesauce is so easy to make, especially if you have one of these–which is on my wish list! This recipe uses minimal ingredients and will be good for about a week in the refrigerator or can be frozen for several months.

Now, go forth and do some apple-picking with the kids, a perfect fall time tradition!

Crock Pot Applesauce

3 lbs. apples, peeled, cored, and sliced
1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon lemon juice

Add all ingredients to crock pot. Cook on high for 3 hours, stirring occasionally. Mash with potato masher (or anything else you have) until desired consistency is reached. Store in small jars so you can use this up before it goes bad.

Do you make your own applesauce? What other ingredients do you include for added flavor?

3 responses to “Easy Crock Pot Applesauce

  1. It IS so yummy!I should have taken a better photo, not just in the jar, but I was being lazy. So easy, the hardest part is peeling and slicing, but honestly I'm a little OCS, I thought it was kind of fun! 🙂

    Like

  2. Checking your recipes and had missed that you thought hardest part of applesauce was the peeling and slicing. There is a little gadget that peels, slices and cores apples. I love it and very fast. Esp. for pie making or dried apples. The peels go in a separate pile so you could cook them up for more nutrients or the pretty pink color Gma Ruthie use to get. Or I have a food mill that I just wash and quarter apples, cook down and then run through mill. I have 2 different kinds of mills and like both. Also I know you recycle container. Be carefull freezing in jars that aren't freezer proof. I've had them break when thawing and you have to pitch the whole thing. I only freeze in bought freezer (canning jars) now. and once you buy a box or pick up at a sale you can use over and over. aunt bev

    Like

What do you think?

