Sweet Potato Curry Soup

 

One of the many reasons I love my husband is for his creativity and love for being in the kitchen. I know ladies, not all our men are savvy with a knife, I know how I blessed I am! This recipe was his doing, actually on a night in which I was so sick even thought of leaving the couch hurt my body.

It was one of those day, you know the one. You’re sick and don’t feel like doing anything, so of course your fridge and pantry are nearly bare. He got creative with what we had, and the result was delicious!

Sweet Potato Curry Soup

2 medium sweet potatoes, skinned and halved
4 cups vegetable stock or bone broth
4 garlic cloves, minced
1/4 sweet onion, chopped
1 tablespoon honey
1 tablespoon curry powder
salt and pepper, paprika, and cayenne pepper to taste

3/4 cup uncooked couscous (2 servings)

Place sweet potatoes in large pot, cover with water, boil until soft.
Meanwhile, prepare the couscous according to directions.
Place potatoes in large bowl, mash.
Saute garlic and garlic in small pot. Add liquid, mashed sweet potatoes, and spiced. Allow to warm through.

This could also be called a “pantry soup” because we threw together ingredients. What kinds of “pantry” dishes do you make?

8 responses to “Sweet Potato Curry Soup

  1. That's funny Mom. If I didn't get to eat his creations that would be my favorite part too.

    Better maybe, but not good. My sinuses are just swollen, a little drainage, but not much. Pressure in my ears, headache. I'm hoping to get better by the weekend.

    Like

  2. Aw!! How saweet!!!! And ps I really like the bowl ๐Ÿ™‚ May I ask where you got it? Just curious is all! If you don't know I am obsessed with pots and stuff!

    Like

  3. Wonder if you can bake the sweet potatoes instead of boiling them? And then scoop out the good stuff. What do ya think?
    -Bri

    Like

  4. Bri- Yeah, I'm sure you could. It may take longer, not sure, but I am sure you would get the same result.
    And actually, we usually bake our sweet potatoes in the microwave anyway so it might take less time doing it that way!

    Like

What do you think?

