Make it at Home: Bread Crumbs

Breadcrumbs: something I was never excited about putting on my grocery list. It just seemed, I don’t know, silly. I mean, I bake my own bread, so I thought, why can’t I make my own breadcrumbs too? Do your kids not like eating the heels? Save those, stick them in the freezer until you get a large batch then make your own breadcrumbs!

Bread Crumbs

bread
food processor
baking sheet
oven at 350
herbs

If your bread is already stale, skip this step. Otherwise, cut your bread into 1 inch cubes. Place in single layer on baking sheet and place in 350 oven for 10 minutes. Check them, if the moisture has left the bread, you’re done. If not, flip the cubes and repeat until the bread is dry (but NOT burnt).

Fill food processor with cubes and let that machine do some work. Process until you like the consistency of your crumbs. Add dried basil, oregano, and parsley for an “Italian blend” or other herbs to excite your taste buds: rosemary or thyme. Store in airtight container.

Why I will always make my own breadcrumbs vs. buying them at the store.

*Ingredients The store bought crumbs I had at home, are you ready for this, had 15 MAIN ingredients, to include HFCS and corn syrup! And 30 secondary ingredients including: brown sugar, honey, molasses, AND sugar. No thanks!
*Ease If I used 10 cups of breadcrumbs a week it might not be economical for me, but bread crumbs are not used a ton in my house so it’s worth it.

One response to “Make it at Home: Bread Crumbs

  1. Pingback: 8 Reasons You Need a Food Processor | The Ezer Wife·

What do you think?

