Bean Burgers: Take 2

Alright, I am going to toot my horn this morning! I have tried two new recipes this week and both were phenomenal. My husband even thought so. Best part: both were vegetarian dishes, well both of mine were. Delicious!

First, a little about my morning. After getting our first electric bill for the new house, ahem, $162, I decided I will no longer habitually watch the Today Show and KLG and Hoda everyday (that’s about 3 hours with the TV on). I’ll watch the stories that interest me, but after that I’m getting my butt off the floor and turning the TV off. So, by 10:30 this yesterday morning I had: caught the weather (tornadoes in the Ozarks?), sent some e-mails, checked my accounts, put together 8 breakfast burritos and placed them in the freezer, and some banana nut bread is in the oven! Whew. I’m sweating….and the heat is off! haha.

Okay, on to these amazing burgers. I will admit, I got this recipe from somewhere and I’m sad to say that this bean burger recipe is better than the one I came up with.

Black Bean Burgers with Avocado Mayonnaise 
Yield: 5 burgers
Burger Ingredients:

1 garlic clove, minced

1/2 cup onion, diced
15 oz black beans, cooked
1/4 cup corn (frozen and thawed)
1 tablespoon ketchup
1 tablespoon water
dash cumin, cayenne pepper, salt, and black pepper each
1/3 cup bread crumbs


Assemble Burgers:
Saute garlic and onion in sprayed skillet over medium heat until tender.

In a large bowl mash black beans using a potato masher until desired consistency.  Add in corn, ketchup, soy sauce, cumin, salt and pepper, onion and garlic until well combined.  Fold in bread crumbs until mixture holds together.  Form into tight patties.

Spray skillet and heat over medium-high heat.  Cook burgers until crispy, about 4-5 minutes per side.  

Avocado Mayo:

half of an avocado, mashed
1/2 c. light mayo
1 t. lime juice
Mix all together. Chill before serving!  Top your burgers off, enjoy!! 
Sides: We paired our burgers with baked sweet potato chips and mashed acorn squash! What a treat.  

4 responses to “Bean Burgers: Take 2

  1. Paige had a black bean burger at Max & Erma's once that I got to taste and we loved it. Tried making them at home and hated them. Not sure what was in the one's we made, I know there was no ketchup or soy sauce. That might make a difference.

    Like

What do you think?

