Hot Topic: Business of Being Born

Have you seen it, the documentary The Business of Being Born? What an eye opener. I would recommend it to anyone, even those who don’t foresee children in the near future.

I want to be upfront about that for this topic. I do not think that you’re a bad mother if you had your kids in the hospital. I do not think you’re a wussy for getting an epidural. I do however believe that it is our own responsibility to be educated and informed. We cannot simply rely on the media or our society’s opinion as a whole to make wise, healthful decisions for us. Too many times we have been let down by those who “know better” and just because “everyone is doing it” does not mean it is right, the everyone here being our society as a whole. I believe that we always have a choice, in everything. I want to share what I know in hopes we can make this world better.

First, I want to mention that I do not have children therefore I have never given birth. Also, it may be important to know that I have always considered a home birth when the time comes, I know most people don’t even think about it. So, this film told the history of medical practices and birthing. Many facts and statistics were given that were literally gut-wrenching.

Why would I go through the pain of child labor when technology allows me to do it pain-free? Reasonable question. You mean, some woman comes into my house with a bag of towels and oils and she delivers my baby? No, not really. Although our society did a great job smearing midwives in the past. What if something goes wrong and my baby needs medical attention only a hospital can provide? Rushing to the hospital at the last minute for any reason is okay, women who plan a hospital birth from the beginning do it too.

Why I am hoping to have home births?
1.My baby comes on my terms (and his/hers), no inducing, no rushing.

2. Women did it for million of years, and I can too.

3. Hospitals are not a calm, relaxing place to me.

4. No drugs in my body or the baby’s.

5. Midwives and doulas are professionals. Most are mothers who can empathize with you.

The US vs. other developed nations

Us: One of the highest baby immorality rates among developed nations.
Them: More than 80% of births occur in presence of midwives.
Us: One of the highest rates of mother immortality rates in developed nations.
Them: More natural births than drug-induced or c-sections.
Us: Doctors are paid ridiculous amounts of money, giving birth in a hospital is a business.

Have you ever thought about why women are laid on their back with their legs in the air to give birth? It doesn’t make much sense if you really think about it. The baby is coming down and out, it is much easier to give birth in a squatting position where the mother is able to use all of her abdominal muscles to push, and to take advantage of this thing called gravity. But wait, giving birth upright is easier for whom? Well the mother of course. That is what is most important right? Well, think about how uncomfortable a doctor would be sitting or squatting on the floor.Β  A woman can’t give birth in a squatting position if she’s had an epidural though right?
Exactly.

Pump the mother full of pitocin which is a synthetic version of oxytocin to quicken the time of labor, thus increasing frequency and intensity of contractions. As a result, most women then request an epidural to help with the pain. However, an epidural can slow down the labor process, thus requiring an increase in pitocin. An epidural essentially paralyzes you from the waist down, no more walking around. Lie down, breath deep, it will all be over soon, push, push. I’m sorry, but my head hurts just thinking about all that.

Our society has also done a fantastic job scaring the living crap out of expectant mothers. Well yeah it’s going to hurt. I mean when was the last time you pushed something as big as a watermelon out of your vagina! I’m sure there are few women who would say that is actually feels good. I believe that’s part of it. Life is hard. Times are tough. You will cry. You will hurt. You might lose everything you have. You might break your leg. [All of these things pertaining to life, not necessarily birth.] Aren’t our experiences what makes us who we are? If life was all rainbows and ice cream how empty we would be.

The rate of c-sections in this country has skyrocketed in the past 30 years. Why? Well, most doctors are great surgeons, do a little cut, pull the baby out, stitch stitch. That was easy. Many doctors fear lawsuits for various reasons in vaginal births. Also, did you know that more c-sections are done at 4 and 10 pm than any other time. ??? ….still don’t know. Dinner time for most people is aroundΒ  5 or 6 and who wants to be up after midnight?

Many of the medical practices used during child labor were later linked with specific birth defects. There are theories and studies that show a link between petocin and autism in children. The drugs and practices that were and are currently used in a medical setting throughout our history have not been tested enough to know of possible side effects.

Why should you see this film? You may want to learn more about home births for your future pregnancies. You may be well past your days of baby growing, but I will bet you have contact with a woman who is not. Learn something new, form opinions, and educate and enlighten not only yourself but those around you. That is the only way we can make things right, share your knowledge. Make a different. Help someone else. Be the change you wish to see.

There is so much more information in this film than I provided. Go to Netflix, sign up for a month free of instant streaming, watch this film along with all the other documentaries I want you to see. πŸ™‚ Forks over Knives, Food, Inc., Supersize Me, Walmart: The high cost of low prices.
Ladies and ‘gents (I don’t think we have any ‘gents) the floor is now open for questions (or opinions, support, criticisms, etc).

10 responses to “Hot Topic: Business of Being Born

  1. It's like you are IN MY HEAD. I haven't seen this movie yet, but it is on the list! KUDOS to everything you said…I am not (mentally) ready to do a home birth, but DEFINITELY delivering at a midwifery when the time comes-Lord willing. I agree so much-really difficult to express opinions (particularly those we are educated and passionate about) to other people without them feeling judged (which I'm so not judging-I think every person has to decide what is best for THEMSELVES). Thanks for being honest! Really love your blog! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Jill–like your name change! πŸ™‚ This film was on my list for awhile too and we got one month of Netflix, so I watched it while Kevin was at work (although I think he should watch it too). I think you'll really like it. It shows how births are done at home, and a few at a birthing center. If someone is completely against the idea I wouldn't recommend it because like most documentaries you only get one side of the story. Let me know what you think about the film.

    Like

  3. I have watched it, last year. And I don't think I saw all of it. But I know that it opened up my eyes (WIDE open) to other options when it comes to giving birth. I have even looked up some mid-wifes/doulas for when that times comes. I am not saying that I would actually have a home birth with a midwife, but I am open to the idea. And with the squatting position when giving birth, I thought “DUH-that only makes sense.” And the whole pitocin and epidural vicious cycle does scares me (Even though, I did have an epidural, it ONLY took 45min to get it in me and the nurse hit a nerve that I felt go down my leg-FREAKY.) My baby or I did not have any ill-effects with that epidural process, but why take the risk-is my thinking for when the next one comes along. Is Ricki Lake or Alicia Silverstone in this movie or directing it? So I think when the time comes, I will definitely be considering a home birth or/and a mid-wife thanks to this documentary!

    Like

  4. Brianne- it really is an eye opener. Like I said, our society has done a good job in making us think giving birth in a hospital is our only/best option. Ricki Lake was kind of behind the movie, though she didn't direct it.

    Like

  5. I am well past child bearing years and things have changed so much. But even in hospital it is still your body and your choice about inducing, drugs, c-section and so on. You find a doctor who will do what you want. Bobby had cord wrapped around his neck, which was plenty scary. Laura and Tina were breech, and mid wives probably deal with that but having extra care at hospital for babies seems more comforting to me. Jim was very premature and needed special care. Birthing rooms in hospitals are much nicer and calmer than in my day we went to delivery room. The circus from my point of view is when the whole clan is in for delivery or right after birth, that is showing my age πŸ™‚ Glad I got to see Kylie born, I was the only one besides Todd in room. With my kids, Terry and only grandparents could come in after birth. Would have been nice for Terry to be there but he almost passed out in hall on one of them, may have been nerves and unknown? But with Amy it worked out no grandparents knew until next day. Nice!! Amy with her kids had a very good doctor, Amy went on baby's time, no drugs, limited visitors and even at home she kept crowd down and visits out of home to limit exposure for awhile. Course I took Amy right from hospital, maybe 2 days old to a Edmond family Christmaas in a blizzard. Oh!! NO seat belts or car seats. She doesn't know how she survived πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Aunt Bev- Some people need to know that they're surrounded by professionals who can make split second decisions. Others want a less controlled environment, with no pressure or expectations. Of course there are circumstances in which a hospital would be better, i.e. breech, cord around neck, etc. I like to know that I have options and that I can deliver my children on my terms with no pressure from anyone in the comforts of my own home (or wherever I decide).
    Funny about AJ and the blizzard!!

    Like

  7. Forgot to mention Lane's birth in hospital. Doctor didn't listen to nurse about speedy delivery and didn't make on in time… nurse delivered πŸ™‚ aunt bev

    Like

  8. I can't decide if I am old-fashioned or just a wimp, but I have to agree with Aunt Bev and say a hospital is the way to go. I haven't seen this documentary you are referring to, but I have seen some of the home births on TV. I think labor and delivery is different for every woman. Some deliver their babies in just a few hours and others are in labor for a LONG time(me). I have had some say that they have menstrual cramps now that are worse than any labor pains they had(not me). When Seth was born, part of the placenta seperated and did not deliver. I won't go into the gory details, but I am glad I was in the hospital and that I trusted and liked my doctor. I will tell you that while I was in labor with Seth, I told your Dad that I would NEVER go through this again. He said I had a grip on his wrist so hard he thought his hand was going to fall off!! Never say never…………I am glad that is one promise I didn't keep. One thing I don't agree with are unneccessary C-sections being performed to have delivery fit into mothers, fathers or doctors schedules.

    Like

  9. Mom- thanks for sharing only the necessary details! πŸ™‚ I too am so glad you didn't keep that promise. I mean could you imagine your life without me?! okay, kidding. One of the topics they hit on in the film are planned C-sections. Like Victoria Beckham aka Posh Spice has scheduled all three of her c-sections around her husband's soccer games. UHH. Wherever I am, whether it's CA or who knows where, in a hospital, birthing center, the comforts of my own home, I hope you will be there to see the birth of my children. πŸ™‚ Love you Mom

    Like

What do you think?

