Colorful Chicken Salad

What a perfect, light lunch for the coming spring and summer. It is full of fruit, which may not be the first thing you think of putting in chicken salad, but it’s delish! The key to keeping this recipe so fresh is using fresh chicken, no canned chicken please. Buy a whole chicken, stick it in the crock pot, let the meat fall off the bone and use in several recipes, then return the carcass to the crock pot and make yourself some rich, nutritious bone broth!

Homemade Chicken Salad

3 cups organic/pastured chicken,  shredded
1  cup celery, diced
1/2 cup carrots, peeled and diced
2 cups pineapple, cubed
1 cup raisins
1/3 cup green onions, diced
1/3 cup bell pepper, diced
1 cup mayonnaise (look for organic or at least minimal ingredients)
1/4 cup honey mustard
1/2 c pecan pieces
2 teaspoons ground ginger
1 tablespoon parsley

Take the time to dice everything up, it’s worth it. Throw all dry ingredients in large bowl first, adding wet and spices on top (it makes for easier stirring). Stir all together well. Let chill before serving.

What kind of meals do you like to throw together for a Sunday lunch? Would you normally put fruit in your chicken salad?

11 responses to “Colorful Chicken Salad

  1. I am getting ready to write a post about how to cook a chicken in a crockpot (and then how to make stock). Can i link up to this post as an idea for what to do with all the chicken?

    Like

  2. Jill- How funny. You and I should go into business together or something. haha. You can absolutely link up to this post. I just did crockpot chicken (hence the leftover chick), it was incredible. The hardest part of the whole shebang was getting the cooked chicken out of the crock–it was literally falling off the bone! Can't wait to see your post.

    Like

  3. Hoping to write the post this weekend. But don't hold your breath! Know how I got the chicken out of the crockpot? I stuck the 'pitchfork' thing that goes with my knife set (note to self, find out what that tool is called) inside the body cavity and lifted it out. Otherwise, we would have had the same issue! I'll let you know when I publish the post! Thanks so much!

    Like

  4. Did we have some at your bachelorette party too? If I remember correctly, it was very tasty!

    Jill, what is your blog address? If you don't mind me checking it out.

    Like

  5. We did Brianne. It's delicious.
    Also- if you click on Jill's name you'll find her blog. If not, can you see my blog roll anywhere? If that doesn't work either try searching “making our marks” 🙂

    Jill- Smart, I don't think I got a “pitchfork” with my knives. lol. It wasn't the prettiest chicken, but Kevin still seemed to love it 🙂

    Like

  6. Made this today! And I still think it is delicious, so I must have made it correctly!! (and I got a few cuts out of it, eeekk!) And I made your energy granola bars. Takes me back to your bach. party!

    Like

  7. Pingback: Curried Chicken Salad | The Ezer Wife·

What do you think?

