Homemade Vegetable Stock

Yep, I’m turning into “that” person. I have made two batches of homemade vegetable stock and now that I know how easy it is I may have kicked myself for not figuring it out sooner. Don’t be so quick to throw your vegetable scraps down the disposal or garbage can! Those “scraps” are full of nutrients and are a great addition to soups and stews.

How to Make Your Own Vegetable Stock

Place all scraps in a big freezer bag (I always keep the bag in my freezer, even when empty), once full dump in stockpot, cover with water, boil a minimum one hour, strain.
Divide in jars/containers, freeze what you won’t use right away. Add to soups, casseroles or anything that calls for water.
*You shouldn’t use any cruciferous vegetables. Broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage, the like. These veggies have very strong flavors and will overpower your stock.
Push as much of the liquid out as possible.
A freezer bag of vegetables made about 5 cups of stock. If freezing in glass, leave plenty of head room else you’ll have a busted jar.
Vegetable stock is too easy NOT to make. Do you make your own stock or broth?
7 responses to “Homemade Vegetable Stock

  1. Brianne started my veggie bag this weekend. It is in the freezer waiting to be filled up. Sure hope I don't forget about it.
    xoxoxmomoxoxox

    Like

  2. Good! Even if you do forget it, it should be okay for a couple months! Plus if you're eating your vegetables then you should be using the bag, right? Haha, I've got to say it feels good telling my Mom to eat her veggies! 😉

    Like

  3. hmm, I didn't forget about the veggie bag, but I did forget that I had already left you a comment about it………………..love, your crazy mother

    Like

  4. Pingback: Make it at Home: Whole Tomato Ketchup | The Ezer Wife·

What do you think?

