Crab Cakes Baked or Fried

When we lived on the East Coast we got our fill of crab cakes. Those little love bites, with a little crunch on the outside and packed full of real crab meat. Add a smear of Zingy Mayo and you’ve got yourself a creamy little patty of deliciousness. Yes, please.

It wasn’t until after we moved that I started making them at home. This recipe is simple with minimal ingredients, and the thing I love most about it is the fact that I can either bake or fry these. When we’re short on time, I throw them in the cast iron skillet with some coconut oil. And when I have more time, or maybe need a few minutes to clean up the house, I pop these in the oven.
Crab Cakes

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon of the following: Italian seasoning, dill, parsley, prepared or dry mustard
  • 1/4 c. milk
  • 1/2 small onion, finely chopped
  • approximately 1/3 cup breadcrumbs, gluten-free flour, or ground flaxseed
  • 1 lb. crab meat, drained (the real stuff, not the imitation–look for wild caught. Hint: krab=not real crab)
  • S&P

Combine everything from eggs, herbs, and milk in large bowl. Stir together. Add in onions and binder, then combine. Toss in crab. Mix well.

Get your hands in there and make some patties! Handle them gently.

To Bake

Place on buttered baking sheet. Bake at 400 for approximately 20 minutes, flipping after 10.

To Fry

Melt enough coconut oil in skillet over medium to cover the bottom. Add crab cakes, and cook for about 3 minutes on each side. Flipping only when golden brown. Remove, add more oil if needed, and repeat until all cakes are cooked.

While cakes are cooking, make mayonnaise.

Zingy Mayo

scant cup of Mayo
1 tablespoon lemon juice
2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
S&P, and some cayenne to taste
Whisk all together and place in refrigerator until ready to use.

Paired with some roasted veggies and you have yourself a little meal.

Do you make crab cakes at home? Which do you prefer, baked or fried?

4 responses to “Crab Cakes Baked or Fried

  1. These look good. I make crab cakes every once in a while, but I do pan fry them. I'll try baking next time. I use canned lumb crab. I that what you use?

    Like

  2. I first had crab cakes on a business trip to the southern US (I am Canadian). I don't remember the name of the restaurant but I'm pretty sure it was a chain. I fell in love, although I have not had them since.
    I think I will try these. I don't know why you say these are not healthy.

    Like

  3. kitblu, I'm glad you had the chance to have them while here (the US). They are big on the East Coast, but no matter we happen to be living, I gotta have 'em. I guess my original comment of not being the healthiest stemmed from the idea that crab cakes are normally fried. You're right, these ARE healthy. I'm going to change that now. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, let me know how they turn out for you.

    Like

What do you think?

