Crock Pot Granola

Crock pot. Something every woman deserves to have in her kitchen. Really, crock pots are seriously one of the best kitchen inventions of all time, would you agree? You can come home after a long day, smell the beautiful aroma of slow cooked roast, and enjoy dinner without much effort. During the hot summer months in San Diego…. Look at me talking like summer is only a short amount of time, who am I kidding it could be 80 in January. But seriously, it does get hot and with out little ‘ol house not having air conditioning, yeah the house reached 90 quite often…and likes to stay there. So, my love for my crock pot is no joke. No joke at all.

And my love for granola is no joke either, so let’s keep it moving.

This recipe is delicious, my first batch was gone in about 3 days. It’s one in which you need to be home for, you’ll need to mix every 30 minutes to avoid burning.

Crock Pot Granola

5 cups oats
1/2 cup ground flaxseed
3/4 cup coconut oil and/or pastured butter*
1/2 cup honey
2 tablespoons cinnamon
1 cup nuts (chopped)**
1.5 cup dried fruit, or other add-ins

*I use a combination of coconut oil and butter as I love the slight coconut taste from the oil. I usually do a whole stick of butter+1/4 cup coconut oil.
**Any nuts you have on hand; I usually do a combination of pecans, almonds, and/or walnuts.
Place fats in saucepan and heat until melted. Remove from heat, add honey. Mix well.
Meanwhile, add all other ingredients (except fruit) to crock pot, mix well. Add liquid mixture to crock pot, mix well to combine.

Set crock pot to low and cook for 2-4 hours. Every pot is different, mine takes about 3 hours to cook. You’ll know it’s finished when the oats have browned some.

Stir every 30 minutes to prevent burning. We don’t want all of your hard work and time to go to waste, just set your timer for 30 minutes each time.

Keep your lid tilted to let moisture escape, this will keep the granola from getting soggy.

Toward the end of the cook time, keep your eye on the granola as it will tend to burn more easily now. I usually do 30 minute segments for the first 2 hours, then set the timer for 20 minutes after that.

Once cooled, add your favorite dried fruit. This granola will keep in the refrigerator in an air tight container for a couple weeks (although mine doesn’t tend to last that long).

Great as a cereal with your favorite milk or over yogurt or by the handful.

 

Are you going to try making your own granola? What additions would you add?

6 responses to “Crock Pot Granola

  1. Your Grandma Ruthie used to make granola, often to take camping. I just checked her recipe and it is very similar. Oats, nuts, margarine, cinnamon, apple, raisins, brown sugar. And hers was cooked in the oven.

    I think apples would be a great addition to yours.

    Like

  2. I finally got around to making this. Really easy and good. I added A bag of Crunchies, freeze dried mixed fruit from WalMarts. Liked the extra crunch. Also did dried cherries in part. Taking some to Jordan to try this weekend. While I was eating it on yogurt. Thought about trying my habanero jelly mixed yogurt. It was really good mixed. And the calorie cut was amazing. I have a weakness for cream cheese 🙂 aunt bev

    Like

  3. I have this in the crock now. I was thinking about adding vanilla. Or some pumpkin spice. Maybe I will try those next time, I just wanted the plain kind for my first batch. Hoping to add this to a snack mix I plan on taking on the plane to California this week!!!!

    Like

  4. Pingback: January Round Up: 16 Healthy Granola Recipes - Whole Intentions·

What do you think?

