The Ezer Wife

The closing months of 2012 were hard for me. I had what I’m calling a “quarter life crisis”. I can’t call it “midlife”, I’m only 23! I spent those months trying to hear God’s voice about my mission. One thing I continually pray for is patience. One day someone told me, when you pray for patience, God doesn’t send it down in a package and then you have it. No, he puts you in situations to exude that patience. Wow, that was eye opening. So, patient I have been. This year I have been a part time caregiver and full time homemaker. I thoroughly enjoy the homemaker part of it, but not so much the other.

I knew I had to make something happen. I have thought about going to culinary school, taking photography classes, becoming a health coach, teaching classes on cooking/baking, making and selling homemade goods for a living (Etsy), turning my blog into a business, writing a book, the list could go on. Needless to say, God has been working on my heart and I know something needs to change. Something is coming.

The first step, change the name of my blog. I like the name I have now, but honestly, it’s not catchy and it is hard for me to share when people ask, “Oh, what’s the name of your blog?”

Today, tomorrow, and all the days of my life I will be an ezer wife. What’s an ezer wife? Let me back up a little and tell you about an issue I had with the Bible. Yes, as a Christian, I have issues with the Bible.

When reading up on marriage and being a good wife, I came across words like “helper”, “submit”, and “aid”. These words disturbed me, I didn’t want to be a maid/secretary/cook for my husband whom I was less than. So, I did some research, read different versions of the Bible, and listened to my Pastor.

If we take the English translation of “helper” and look at the Greek, it’s “ezer”. Ezer, a word used to describe God, someone who has the strength and the power to help, to make something better. As women we were not being referred to as subordinates, but compared to The Almighty. God declared, “this is not good” before making woman. He knew even before Adam could get into much trouble that he needed a companion, an ezer.

So no matter what stage in life I am in, or what job or career I have, I will always be an Ezer to my husband.
Hence the name change, The Ezer Wife. 

The url (the site you go to when visiting me) will change soon, but we will start with the title.

So what does this mean for my blog? Will the content change? Will my blog only reach out to married women?

No and no. The content won’t necessarily change. I will still feature whole food recipes, simple homemade tricks, and the like. However, I will be adding content on what I’m learning through the Bible (sidenote: my husband and I are trying to read through the entire Bible this year!). I am not a theologian by any means, just a new Christian who is excited to share the Good News with anyone who wants to listen. As for the part about this blog only being for married women, not so. Anyone who is interested in an alternative lifestyle, one that maybe does not coincide with the mainstream should stick around.

So, what do you think, will you stick around? Any suggestions on what else you might like to see here?

 

6 responses to “The Ezer Wife

  1. Of course I'll stick with you. I love you and am interested in what you think and have to say. I would like to know how to pronounce Ezer though.

    Like

  2. Love it! The name change definitely makes it marketable /easier to find and remember. Let me know if you ever turn your blog into a business! Veterans United does a lot of ads with social media. Your site may be of interest to them!

    Like

  3. Hiya Jan. I just sent you a note via Facebook, then read your blog. I must admit I haven't been keeping up lately. I love your new blog name. This book that I asked about in my Facebook message is one I wish I had read early in my marriage. Some of the author's advice may come off as sexist, so have an open mind when you read it. If you haven't read it I would love to send you a copy, let me know sweet girl. Love to you and Kevin.
    🙂 Mindy

    Like

  4. Hello friend! I just replied to it 🙂 If you have a copy you would like to send, I would really love that otherwise I can buy a copy. Did I tell you I just finished “What's it like to be Married to Me?” by Linda Dillow with a group a ladies? very eye-opening. We are now working on “The Modern's Girl Guide to Bible Study”, just started, but it's a great resource on how to get the most from His Word. 🙂

    Like

What do you think?

