Make it at Home: 3-Step Almond Milk

It’s okay if you’re so intimidated by this one that you want to run out and grab your favorite carton of the stuff. I understand. I too was so intimidated by making my own almond milk, I put it off for like 3 months.

It’s so easy though and much tastier than anything you can buy in the store. And for me, much cheaper. I can get raw almonds for 3.99/pound on sale. The little carton of milk is that much.

 
3 Steps to Homemade Almond Milk

Soak the nuts.
Process the nuts.
Strain the liquid.

Really, it’s pretty much that simple. But since I’m trying to get you to make your own, I should probably go into a bit more detail huh?
1 cup raw almonds (organic if you can)
soaking water
3 1/2 cup add’l water (for the milk)
pinch salt
1 teaspoon vanilla
3 tablespoons real maple syrup
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Soak the nuts.

This softens the nuts and makes for easier processing. Place almonds in bowl and cover with water. Place in refrigerator to soak overnight. Sometime the next day, drain and rinse nuts.

Process the nuts.

Place nuts in blender, add 3 1/2 cups water. Blend blend blend. Mine runs for about 2-3 minutes.

 Strain the liquid.

If you’ve got a bowl with a spout, use that, trust me it’s so much easier! Place salt, vanilla, syrup and cinnamon in the bowl. Using  cheesecloth*, nut milk bag, or a dish towel strain the liquid into a bowl. Squeeze all the yummy liquid out. Set pulp aside.Whisk, bottle, and place in fridge.
*I use 2-3 layers of cheesecloth to strain. You can find it at most grocery stores or online. Be sure to wash it after using.

 

The Pulp

Now for that pulp. Guess what we’re going to do with that? Make almond flour! While I do enjoy making my own almond milk, the financial benefit really comes from making my own almond flour. It’s pricey, ya’ll!

If you have a dehydrator and “fruit roll-up” sheets, then I would recommend freezing the pulp until you have enough to fill your dehydrator.

If you will be using the oven, like me, then you want to spread the pulp as thin as you can over a cookie sheet/baking stone. Set your oven to its lowest setting and leave the pulp in there for 1-3 hours (the time varies greatly based on how thin you spread it and how much of the liquid you squeezed out). Check on it after an hour (mine was done after about 90 minutes). Mix around to prevent burning. Once it feels dry, it’s done.

Once the almond flour dry, place in food processor and process to a fine powder. Store in airtight container and place in refrigerator or freezer. Use in place of wheat flour in baking.

Try experimenting with flavored almond milk: chocolate, pumpkin spice, or berry.

Have you been thinking about making your own almond milk? Are you brave enough to try it now?

5 responses to “Make it at Home: 3-Step Almond Milk

  1. Sara, you should. It's very simple. Well, I did some research on what exactly the difference is between meal and flour, and it seems to me that flour is just more fine than meal. So, I would say depending on the power of your processor, you could end up with either. Mine turned out to be something in between the two.

    I will definitely link up with you today!

    Like

  2. I also drink almond milk for benefits as well as cows milk makes me feel awful. This has definitely motivated me to make my own almond milk! I will let you know how it goes.

    Like

  3. Amanda, I think you'll be pleasantly surprised with how easy it is. Once you've done it once, you won't need to look at the how-to anymore, it's so simple you'll just remember. Hope it goes well for you!

    Like

  4. Pingback: 8 Reasons You Need a Food Processor | The Ezer Wife·

What do you think?

