Make it at Home: Vanilla Ice Cream

The weather is warming up here, as I’m sure it is in most of the country. The flowers are in bloom and the snakes are moving here in SoCal.

Warm weather means a different type of fare. It never really gets cold here, not like it does in the Midwest, so I have been making ice cream all “winter” long.

The Key Players

Before we get to the recipe, a few notes on the ingredients. First, the egg yolks. I add raw egg yolks to this recipe, and as you know ice cream doesn’t get cooked. I personally do not trust the conventional eggs at the grocery store so I use the local eggs I get at the farmer’s market.

Next, the cream. For the most nutrition, use raw cream. If you are unable to find it (as I sometimes am) or it’s too expensive look for low-pasteurized from a grass-based dairy. Pasteurizing dairy kills off most of the beneficial nutrients we are wanting to get.

 

The sweetener: maple syrup. Anytime you see maple syrup in one of my recipes, it is not Aunt Jamima’s “syrup”. Did you see what’s in that stuff? More corn syrup than anything else, followed by high fructose corn syrup. There isn’t any maple syrup or sap in this stuff at all! Stay away, far far away. Instead, when you see that I’m using maple syrup as a sweetener, it’s 100% real maple syrup. Organic and Grade B.

The vanilla extract is homemade as the stuff at the store is also full of artificial colors and flavors. The “vanilla” in vanilla extract is also manufactured, it does not come from the vanilla bean.

Arrowroot powder is chosen over cornstarch because the cornstarch is almost guaranteed to be genetically-modified and corn is a top allergen.

The high fat content should not scare you, but don’t be surprised if you don’t eat as much as you expect. The higher fat content will make you feel fuller, sooner.

Note, I have only ever made this recipe with my KitchenAid mixer ice cream attachment. But here’s my 3 Ingredient Ice Cream that doesn’t require an ice cream maker.

Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream

2-3 egg yolks
3 cups heavy cream
1/2 cup real maple syrup
1 tablespoon vanilla
1 tablespoon arrowroot powder
**See notes on all ingredients above to make your ice cream the most nutritious.

In a large bowl (preferably one with a spout if you have it) whisk eggs. Add all other ingredients and mix well. Start ice cream maker, and pour mixture into maker. It usually takes about 20-25 minutes to get ice cream with my machine. Read the instructions for your maker. Store in a large glass dish with tight fitting lid.

 

Ice Cream Sandwiches

I have to share this treat with you guys! We love these and might have had them 2 days in a row followed by a nap. Hey, this is a judgment-free zone. I simply put a couple small scoops of ice cream in between two of these cookies. Note, when you make these cookies, make them a little bigger than you normally would and flatten them out before baking.

Do you make your own ice cream?

4 responses to “Make it at Home: Vanilla Ice Cream

  1. Your Grandma Ruthie's vanilla ice cream is cooked (more a custard I guess). You could probably adapt her recipe.

    Like

  2. Yum, I remember loving her vanilla the best! I think Mom was going to give it to me so I could work with it. I'll have to make sure it's coming my way 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: My Favorite Things: Kitchen Edition | The Ezer Wife·

  4. Pingback: Homemade Sunflower Seed Butter | The Ezer Wife·

What do you think?

