8 Reasons You Need a Food Processor

With the welcoming of the warm summer weather we are often also welcoming guests into our home. Or we are the guests. Whether you are visiting family or friends, going on vacation, taking a business trip most of us are probably traveling in the coming months.

As a real foodie, this poses a multitude of challenges. Do I ship my raw honey, coconut oil, and apple cider vinegar? Do I pack it in my luggage? Maybe you plan to do some shopping upon your arrival. While I haven’t figured out a way to take my kombucha with me, I do plan to use my food processor quite a bit in the week leading up to our 2 week vacation.

This morning I used my beloved food processor/ blender combo for 3 things. And today is a pretty normal day, only the pulsing of a pie crust isn’t something I do multiple times throughout any given week.

Depending on what you plan to use your processor for and how much you want to spend, you could spend hours deciding which is best for you. I have a CuisinArt combo that has worked wonderfully for me for about 2 years. It’s only gone into one coma, and it woke back up within a couple of hours. Almond butter is not something I can make in my house. All over the blog-o-sphere, people rave about their VitaMix or Blendtec. CuisinArt does have some nice ones too.

8 Reasons You Need a Food Processor

Nut Butters

Since I started making my own peanut butter, we have not bought any from the store. I have dipped my finger into a jar at a friend’s house, and it tastes completely different. There are some things that once you’ve had homemade, you won’t go back to store bought. Peanut butter is one of those things. It’s so easy and the results of what little work you have to do is more than worth it. After mastering peanut butter, one might find themselves eager to jump into the “other” nut butter world. Find recipes here.

Breadcrumbs

Last year I shared a post with my breadcrumb “recipe“. I told you then that I couldn’t justify buying breadcrumbs from the store because of the price and the extensive ingredient list. I did find a wholesome version at Trader Joe’s, but still, just the idea of buying crumbled bread hurts me.

Grating Vegetables

We have a new favorite breakfast, it comes from PaleOMG, a blog that I visit frequently. Her sweets are the best. A few of them are regulars coming out of my kitchen, Triple Chocolate Truffles, giant vanilla chocolate chip cookies. Her Carrot Cake Pancakes are so delicious. I have been trying to find a reliable pancake recipe and kept coming up short, until now. Shredding carrots, zucchini, and other veggies for baking can be done very easily with a food processor.

Triple Chocolate Truffles

I’m not exaggerating when I say I make these at least once a month. It’s usually for an occasion, but not always. My husband and I may enjoy all 20ish of them ourselves. Don’t judge.

Pie Crusts

My quest for the perfect pie crust is ongoing. I try not to use much all-purpose flour in my kitchen, but when I do I always use unbleached. I am making one today using almond flour and unbleached AP. The butter I use is frozen, so the food processor does most of the work for me, then I will cut in using two knives.

Almond flour

Silk is no longer a household name for us. I gave up my carton almond milk initially because of some of the ingredients. After I found out how easy it was to make, and the taste, you cannot beat the taste of homemade almond milk! Being the frugal (did someone say cheap?) being that I am, when I make milk, I use the pulp to make almond flour. After it’s been dried, the processor breaks it down even more.

Larabars

This is another treat we have often in our house. They take about 4 minutes to make and even less time to eat. They are awesome. I am always experimenting with new recipes, so check the post often.

 Pumpkin Puree

Last fall as we were driving through our neighborhood we go to talking. I wonder what people do with all their uncarved pumpkins? Well, we knew the answer. Probably 99% of people throw them in the trash. I decided to ask for all of their smaller ones (they are sweeter!) and made tons of pumpkin puree. We enjoy it in baked goods and in oatmeal!

Why I love my Blender/Processor Combo

When I’m not using my processor attachment, I am using the blender.

Almond milk

When you make things at home, they don’t last as long. The absence of man-made preservatives leaves things vulnerable to spoilage quicker. Almond milk is no exception, it will last 3, maybe 4 days. I don’t always have it, but I do make it at least once a week.

Smoothies

Yum yum! Some of my favorite things to throw in the blender are bananas, berries, spinach, ice cream, yogurt, coconut milk. I could go on friends, really, you can’t go wrong with smoothies.

What are your favorite things to make in your processor?

What do you think?

