How to Treat a Cold Naturally

If you have even considered living a natural lifestyle, you will know how exciting this news is. I have never treated any illness naturally, this was my first baby step.

Now, if you’re well into your natural living lifestyle, please feel free to add any treatments to this.

Let me start the post with a little story. We had just moved. My dog was covered in fleas from the new house and my husband was super sick. He thought it was a sinus infection. The next morning, I called a friend whom I knew had essential oils and asked if I could buy some samples for him. I left my two sick and scratchy boys to pick up the oils, flea meds, the correct hook-up for our washer (no washer, means no washing blankets and clothes covered in fleas…it was a long week!).

Just to tell you a little about how his experience went, let’s start with the fact that we didn’t get oils on him until at least 20 hours after he started feeling bad. I had him take a shot of ACV for two days. I gave him broth to drink. Lots of ginger and echinacea tea, and soup for dinner. This guy was well taken care of. He also took ibuprofen, Nyquil, and Mucinex, not with my blessing of course. His cold stuck around for about 3 full days. He had to take a day off work, something he’d never done before.

Now, let’s turn the page. Two days later, I could tell I was getting sick. I immediately started using all the oils I got for him. This cold was so bad, I was sneezing, my eyes were watery, and I had a “post nasal drip”, which means I was standing over the sink with my nose going drip…drip…drip. Yuck. I was miserable.

This was a Friday night. I woke up Saturday feeling fit as a fiddle, and here’s why:

  • Essential Oils: I used doterra oils. OnGuard on my feet to help fight the illness. Alternating Peppermint and Eucalyptus behind my ears and down my throat. Breathe in my hands and breathing it in through my nose. My treatment centered around these, I was applying them every 4 hours (1-2 drops each time).
  • Broth: I drank 2 cups of chicken broth the first day I was “sick”. I warmed it up on the stove and drank it by the mug. It was pretty yummy actually.
  • Water: I drank lots of water to help flush everything out. Staying hydrated while you’re sick is vital.
  • Tea: I drank at least 2 cups of tea a day, a combination of the lemon ginger tea found in this post and echinacea tea.
  • ACV: I took a shot of apple cider vinegar two mornings. It is not pleasant y’all and I recommend doing it on a full belly, right after breakfast. I’ve heard some people like to mix it into their tea or with water, I didn’t like that. It was much easier to get down a shot than a whole mug of tea or glass of water.
  • Neti Pot:Ā  It does take a little getting used to, but I felt immediate relief and my sinuses didn’t swell or run again.

 

According to my husband he thinks the oils worked for me because I “believed”. Ha. He thinks it was at least partially a mental thing. He called me a witch doctor at least twice and it was hard for me to get him to use the oils more than twice a day.

 

How do you naturally treat a cold? Would you ever consider forgoing modern medicine for more natural methods?

2 responses to “How to Treat a Cold Naturally

  1. Following you from ALN. šŸ™‚ I am considering becoming a doTerra consultant, too. It has taken me a long time to get up the nerve to try essential oils, but a couple of months ago I came down with viral pneumonia and a terrible sinus infection. I was *miserable* until a friend brought me a bunch of doTerra oils – Breathe was especially effective, I think! I used it on my chest and the congestion broke up almost immediately. I was able to avoid the antibiotics the doctor prescribed (for my sinus infection since it had lasted over a week) and now I'm sold!

    Like

  2. Hi Anjanette! Thanks for stopping by. šŸ™‚

    I am so glad that the oils worked so well for you. Like you, it took me awhile to get to a point that I wanted to sell them. You hear stories of how they've helped people, but until you experience them for yourself, it's hard to believe the things EO's can do! Breathe does wonders for congestion, right? If you have any questions about the oils themselves or the company, please don't hesitate to ask me. I think I've shared my personal email on the network page. šŸ™‚

    Like

What do you think?

