Health by Essential Oils Part 1: What are Essential Oils & How Do They Work?

Is this the point I reach Ultimate Hippie status? Or was that when I quit using shampoo?

You decide.

Either way, I am starting a new series on essential oils. I am so excited to share this with you guys.

Why?

Well, for starters, I’m a Wellness Advocate for doTERRA, one of the most renowned essential oil companies in the world.

The other reason I’m so excited? The oils work! I am just beginning my process of replacing oils with my SAMC (Standard American Medicine Cabinet–yes, I think I just coined the term!). Doing so will be a process, a learning experience, but I am so ready.

Natural healing is something our society is so far removed from, people will think you’re crazy when you tell them, “Yeah, I strengthened my immune system by putting some oils on my feet” or “My child’s behavioral issues have been completely under control for 3 weeks now, all because of some oils that smell really good.”

It’s okay. It’s okay to be weird or different or unusual. In this day and age, where we are sicker than ever, suffering more than before, and so dependent on our drugs, I am totally comfortable with being weird.

What are essential oils?

Essential oils are natural compounds made from different parts of plants including the leaves, stem, flowers, seeds, bark, and more. Essential oils have been part of human history for centuries. Before modern medicine, there were essential oils (among other natural healing practices). The Bible even refers to essential oils over 600 times. Do frankincense or myrrh sound familiar? Bingo, that’s Bible talk!

You know when you get a bouquet of flowers, and the first thing you want to do is stick your nose in them? Or when you’re cooking and after having added all your spices, you sort of “waft” the scent toward your face to smell? You are enjoying essential oils aromatically. Unbeknownst to many, plants and thus essential oils are not just lovely to smell some oils are antibacterial, great for cleaning or killing bacteria causing an illness. You can clean with them, cook with them, and use them in your beauty products.

I believe that when we harness what God has provided us in nature, not only are we pleasing Him, but we are treating our bodies the way He intended.

So how are these oils made?

Could I go pick a mint leaf and squeeze so hard the oil comes out? Well, not exactly. Though if you got enough mint leaves you may get a few drops!

There are several ways that oils can be taken from plants. doTERRA uses a low-heat steam distillation method, which ensures that all the oil is taken from the plant without using too much heat which can kill the chemical composition and thus decreasing potency.

How do essential oils work?

Honestly, you guys the research I did on how these oils actually work will probably be boring to most of you. Let’s just put it this way: The oils are able to work throughout the entire body, all the way down at the cellular level. Oils work by entering certain parts of your brain, particularly the limbic system which controls things like hormone balance, heart rate, memory, and much more. Pretty much everything! The oils will send signals to your brain which in turn sends signals to your body.

I hope you’ve enjoyed Part 1 of my series, Health by Essential Oils. It’s my hope that you have a better understanding of the basics of EO’s. Check back next time for How to Use Essential Oils and Standards If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact me through my Facebook page.

Have you tried any type of essential oil? How likely are you to use essential oils for health?

What do you think?

