Salted Chocolate Caramel Popcorn!

One of the best things to come out of my kitchen since forgoing a microwave a year and a half ago is stovetop popcorn.

Truly, I could have it 3 times a week. Maybe more. I may even have had it for supper a few times while my husband was working nights. Shh…

Until a couple of months ago, I could only imagine making savory popcorn. One of my favorite ways to have popcorn is with butter and salt and pepper. Yes, plenty of pepper. It wasn’t until I was going to make some popped corn for a women’s Bible study when I thought, Hey, I should make a savory popcorn and a sweet popcorn! The ladies will love it…or at the very least, I will!

Here you can find out how I always pop my corn, using coconut oil.

Salted Chocolate Caramel Popcorn

popped corn
3 tablespoons grass-fed butter
2 tablespoons coconut sugar*
2 teaspoons allergen-free chocolate chips
2 teaspoons cacao powder
dash salt

*Using coconut sugar is what gives the “caramel” flavor, other granulated sugars will not give the same result.

Before popping corn, make a double broiler with a pot and bowl, start heating water over high heat. Add butter, sugar, and chocolate chips. Once water is boiling, turn heat down to low to prevent chocolate from burning.

Pop the corn.

Meanwhile, stir chocolate mixture to help melting process and prevent burning. Once everything is melted, add cacao powder and salt. Turn off heat, mix.

Place popcorn in large bowl once popping has stopped. Using a hot pad or towel, remove bowl with chocolate and drizzle over popcorn. Use a spatula to get all the melty goodness.

As you drizzle, use spatula to mix popcorn for even distribution of chocolate mixture. If you need more salt (or sugar!) your popcorn will be sticky enough that you can add it after. Enjoy same day, it will be a bit soggy the next day.

What flavor popcorn is your favorite? Sweet or savory? 
2 responses to “Salted Chocolate Caramel Popcorn!

  1. I remember when you and Kevin moved out here, and looked at me like I was crazy when we didn't have a microwave! Haha. It is nice having left overs that are crisp and not nuked isn't it!

    Like

What do you think?

