How to Clean Natural Boar Bristle Brush

Do you remember seeing my series last summer about Going No ‘Poo? Well you should, it was one of my most popular series. The Transition. Update #1. Update #2. No ‘Poo Alternatives.

While I’m still experimenting with homemade and natural shampoos, I wanted to touch base on the subject and give you a how to.
Update: I’ve been using JR Liggett’s Shampoo bar for nearly 9 months, love it!

Okay, moving on. I try to use it 2 times a week, but sometimes it’s 3. In between shampoos I just wash with water.

I had read so many places about natural bristle brushes. I thought they sounded ridiculous. Fine if I want to go “all natural” with the food I’m eating and my beauty products, but what’s it really matter if I brush my hair with plastic?!

Let me start with, no, there is nothing wrong with using a plastic comb or brush!

However, if you have ditched commercial shampoos and are finding that even with using a natural or homemade shampoo regularly that your sebum levels are heightened a natural brush may be what you need. Sebum is the oil your head produces naturally. When we use commercial shampoos, our sebum is stripped and our glands essentially freak out. They go into hyper-production mode and hence the reason your hair is greasy or oils after 2 days.

Sebum is natural, it protects our hair from damage, but like so many areas in our modernized life we like to play God and make chemicals that “do a better job”. Except they don’t.

That leads us to the boar bristle brushes. Unlike plastic or metal bristles, boar’s hair is able to pull our sebum down from the roots and onto the length of our hair. It will also “collect” some sebum, hence the reason we need to keep it clean.

Cleaning Your Boar Bristle Brush

Your brush need to be cleaned about once a week. Sometimes I can’t go 5 days without a major build-up of sebum in the brush, other times I can go about 2 weeks.

You’ll be able to see when your brush needs cleaning, it will look dirty!

So how does one go about cleaning their natural boar hair brush? You will need: your brush, small bowl, hot water, dish soap (or other soap), kitchen towel

First thing’s first, remove all the hair from your brush. We’re not trying to end up with soapy hair water! Get it all out, all of it! Okay, you don’t have to get all of it, but get as much as you can. Use your fingers or a comb.

Find a bowl that your brush bristles will fit into. We don’t want to get our handle wet (or the squishy part that the bristles are stuck in). Fill with hot water and soap, swish around. Place bristles in water and allow to soak at least 10 minutes and not longer than 30.

Remove from bowl and using fingers gently work out the bristles, this is your scrubbing action. Rinse out  using either the bowl with new water or by carefully rinsing under running water. If your wooden handle does get wet, it’s okay. Just dry it off.

Now, lay brush bristles down on a kitchen towel (bathroom towels will result in lint in the bristles). Allow to dry. Don’t do like I did and decide as you’re getting ready for work (with 10 minutes to spare) that your brush needs cleaning and put it in soap water before you brush your hair. This won’t be enough time!! These brushes take a long time to dry.

Do you use a boar bristle brush on your hair? How often do you use “shampoo” on your hair?

 

3 responses to “How to Clean Natural Boar Bristle Brush

  1. Hi Lorena, I found mine at a health food store, Sprout's. Not sure where you're located, but I know they are all over the Southwest- CA, AZ, NM, TX. If not, you could check your local health food stores. Mine was actually on sale for $7 because they were discontinuing it. Good luck! I love mine.

    Like

  2. I have a experience with wildgood brushes and I'm having a very good results, I choosed this brush because is 100% natural you should try!!Very good article about how to clean the brushes , I was looking for a good explanation for clean my!!

    Like

What do you think?

