Chocolate Caramel Pecan Cups

I love nut butters. I love chocolate. I’m wishing it wasn’t 9PM so I could go make some of these now.

If you’ve not made nut butter cups before, I think you’ll be surprised with how easy it is. Like anything else homemade, they taste so much than any store bought version I’ve had.

These treats are perfect for packed lunches, dessert after supper, or accompanied with your morning coffee. Yes, I admit, I’ve had these while cooking up my breakfast.

Chocolate Caramel Pecan Cups

Chocolate Cup

1 cup chocolate chips (I love these because they’re nut, soy, and dairy free)
4 teaspoons coconut oil

OR

1/2 cup coconut oil
1 cup cacao powder

Caramel Pecan Filling
6 tablespoons pecan butter
3 tablespoons caramel sauce
1 tablespoon raw honey
1 teaspoon vanilla
dash salt

For all other nut butter cups, replace the pecan butter with 6 tablespoons of your favorite nut butter (we love cashew butter cups).

In a double broiler (I place a glass bowl that fits into/on a small pot), place chocolate cup ingredients over medium-low heat and melt. Take care not to burn, be patient.

Meanwhile, mix filling ingredients (except caramel) together in small bowl.Shape into disks that will fit into molds/ paper cups with enough room for top chocolate layer to melt around. In other words, you want a “cup” of chocolate to form around your filling disks.

Using silicon molds or small paper cups, pour enough of the melted chocolate in the bottom to cover. Allow to sit a few minutes to harden. Place nut butter disk on chocolate, cover with caramel. Pour another layer of chocolate on top. Chill and enjoy.

Do you make your own nut butter cups? What types of other fillings do you use?
What do you think?

