Most Popular 2013 Posts

Statistics are boring. They are pretty cool too though. I love looking back over my posts and seeing what you guys loved. I need stats to do that.

As we begin another year, I look forward to what I will learn and be able to share with you. Let us look back on 2013 and see what posts you guys liked the most. And by “liked” I mean those that got the most views.

Top 4 Recipes

3 Bean Chili

I’ll be honest, we haven’t had this 3 Bean Chili, at least not since I started eating meat again. If you’re looking to save some money and want a meatless recipe, this one is yummy! Go for it. 

Salted Chocolate Caramel Popcorn

Really, this popcorn is yummy. I’ve tweaked it a bit, sometimes only using chocolate chips instead of chips and cacao powder, either way it’s yummy. The trickiest part is getting your chocolate mixture evenly spread over the popcorn, but that shouldn’t keep you from trying this delicious treat. 

Caramel Pecan Cups

These treats don’t get made very often, usually for a special occasion, holiday, birthday, celebrating something. If you have kids, this recipe would be so fun and simple to make. 

Keylime Cheesecake with GF Crust

I made this recipe for my husband’s birthday. He loves keylime cheesecake, loves it. I haven’t made it since, but I remember it was delicious and a hit with the hubs. Leave out the lime juice and just have cheesecake, top it with caramel (see above), strawberries, you name it. Nobody really needs a reason to make cheesecake!

 

Top 5 “Other” Posts 

4 Tips on Spending Your Food Dollars on Real Food

This post was fun to write; it’s based on a book I read, Food Rules by Michael Pollan. I wouldn’t even call it a book, you can finish it in less than an hour. His take on food, keeping your diet simple and whole, is obviously very similar to how we live. However, before reading his book, I never really thought about not eating anything in the same place I fuel my car. So interesting. 

Going No ‘Poo: The Transition

Last spring and summer, I went without using shampoo. I used what seems to be the most common alternative method, baking soda and apple cider vinegar. It did leave my hair feeling very clean and looking great, but I’ve since realized that my sensitive skin does not do well with baking soda. It made my head, neck, chest, and shoulders break out. On a side note, I’ve tried making my own deodorant with baking soda, and it peeled my skin off in hunks. Just for an update, I’m currently using a shampoo made mostly of essential oils from Trader Joe’s. While I don’t plan to stick with this product, it suffices for now. I have been wanting to try this homemade version by Shalom Mama. 

Snowballing Debt: How We Paid Off $16,000 in 9 Months

We took the Financial Peace class by Dave Ramsey and it completely changed our view on money. You should know, before reading this post, that we did have money saved up that went toward our $16,000 pay off, though with enough discipline and hard work, I know anyone can pay off any amount of debt in a reasonable time. As an update, following the “snowball” plan, since February we have paid off our 2011 car, my husband’s career starter loan, our small amount of credit card debt (about $650), and are now making between $600-750 monthly payments on student loans. Our plan for the next 19 months (when we MAY be getting our of the Marine Corps) is to save over $9,000 and pay off over $14,000 in debt.

Discovering Natural Birth Control Options

This post was difficult for me to share, obviously birth control is a private matter and people have strong beliefs about it. After 10 years of taking “the pill”, I was hesitant about starting FAM. Now that I’m more than 9 months in, I love it. I’m more aware of what my body is doing and why.

My Food Journey: Introducing Meats 

Another personal story, my diet. I gave up all meat with the exception of fish for a year and a half. I was initially convicted to do so after watching certain documentaries and reading books about the disgusting treatment of most animals in this country. Ignorance on this topic would have left me a lover of conventional meat. However, with further education, I came to find that I could have my meat and eat it too. Now, almost all of the meat in our house is organic, grassfed, wild caught, or local.

Did your favorite post of mine not make the list? What’s one thing you learned in 2013 from reading my blog?
What do you think?

