What’s Keeping You From Being a Godly Wife? Pt 2

I started this mini series on ungodly or immoral women at the beginning of March. Why would I share these you might ask? To be honest, after 22 years of doing it my way, I needed a change and if I was going to get right down to it, I needed to see what God said not to do. I have googled every variation of “what does the Bible say about bad wives” that you can imagine. Probably 20 variations, it was frustrating. Putting these verses together in two places will hopefully make things easier should you be doing the same kind of search. You need not be ashamed, friend, you should be proud of yourself for caring and being aware enough to want to change. Now, let’s dig in to the last set of verses I’ve put together for those of us wondering what’s keeping us from being a godly wife.

It’s better to live alone in the desert than with a quarrelsome, complaining wife.

Proverbs 21:19
God’s word tells us that living in the desert is better than a complaining wife. Really? Let’s think about that for a second. In the desert the days are hot, like hotter than any of us have probably experienced and dry. So dry that our skin would crack, our throat are so dry we wouldn’t even be able to swallow. We’d be so dehydrated we wouldn’t be able to walk without falling over. Then, the night comes. It can be very cold and as dark as dark can be. There are creatures out there that could kill us. It’s hopeless. Take one minute to picture that place, then put your husband in that scene.
Go ahead.
You’ve probably never seen him so weak, have you? He looks as if he’d rather die than be there, right? Now, see what comes next. God says, your husband is better left out there, as miserable as he may be, than live with you who picks fights with him and complains all day.
What do you need to pray about in your life to drop your qualms? Accept the love God is freely giving to you so that you can set your heart on the right path. When you do this — get your heart right, your thoughts will change, your feelings will change, your words, then your actions they’ll all change. I’ve tried it my way, ladies, and I’m here to tell you, there’s been nothing that I did on my own to begin to make these changes.
 

It’s better to live alone in the corner of an attic than with a quarrelsome wife in a lovely home.

Proverbs 25:24
This very is very similar to Proverbs 21:9, but it was important enough to be in the Bible twice, so it’s surely important enough for me to include more than once. As someone who likes her house to look a certain way, this verse speaks right to me.Before I share what’s next, I will first add: I do not think domestic duties are solely the responsibility of the wife. Okay, now that that’s out. This verse speaks to me in a way that reminds me that my relationship with my husband is more important than how my house looks. If I’m stressing over dinner or how the house looks before guests arrive and feel that justifies me being snappy with him, well, then I’m wrong. Seeking peace with your husband is far more valuable than any meal you’ll ever cook or how much dust you can clean up.

A quarrelsome wife is annoying as constant dripping on a rainy day. Stopping her complaints is like trying to stop wind or trying to hold something with greased hands.

Proverbs 27:15

Drip drip drop little April showers, yes, that’s the song off Bambi. It’s been stuck in my head for a week and was the first thing I thought of. That and because we’re actually supposed to get rain tonight here in SoCal! This verse tells us though that a trouble-making wife is annoying like the constant drip dropping of rain.
Maybe you think the rain is soothing (I do), well, that’s not what this verse is referring to. Imagine you’re in bed trying to sleep and right outside your window, the water coming off the roof is dripping on a metal pie plate. Annoying. So too is fighting with your husband. By fighting, I’m not just talking about the situations in which an all-out argument is taking place, I’m talking about the time we nag at them, use “that” tone with him, make him feel bad for forgetting to do something he said he would. It’s annoying and we have to stop.
He wants you to stop, but when he tries he will always come up short. Him trying to stop your complaints is like trying to catch the breeze in his fists. He won’t succeed. And neither will you. This post may open your eyes to some things in your life, and you’ll fix them temporarily, but neither of you can successfully stop your demeaning attitude without the help of our Lord Jesus Christ. It’s easy to change something when someone calls us out (that is what I’m doing after all, holding us all accountable even myself), but in a couple weeks time, we’ll be at it again.
Change can happen. It takes time, patience, and lots of prayer. Pray over the things you want to change about yourself. Ask God to change your heart. Tell him that you don’t like being ruled by these feelings of anger and entitlement, he can help you change. Let go of what’s been done to you. You don’t have to be overcome with sadness or guilt anymore, let it go and invite God into your life daily. He loves you and wants to see you happy.
What do you think?

