My Daily Essential Oil Routine

Essential oils were brought into my life nearly a year ago, and my life is so completely different since then it’s amazing. My husband nor I have been to a doctor (except the mandatory military check-ups for him) in a year. We haven’t taken any medication either. No, not even after my husband’s gums were gouged and bloody from the dentist on base. We used OnGuard and melaleuca to numb and heal his gums and he was fit as a fiddle the next day!

So, a year into this awesome, crazy life and I thought it’d be fun to tell you how I use them for maintenance, or in my life daily. Now, there are plenty of times in which I call upon my EO stash to get us through illnesses or problems or to clean my house with, but now you’ll have an idea how essential oils can be incorporated into your daily life.

After you read this article you may decide you’d like to start your relationship with essential oils too! Your needs are likely quite different than mine, but this is my daily relationship with essential oils. If you’d like to set up a Wellness Consultation with me, message me here.

Morning Essential Oil Routine

*Apply Balance to neck and shoulders
 For those of us who are introverts, sometimes facing the day can be scary. Maybe you have a presentation, big meeting, or just need a little help getting through our day being around people. Balance is a great option for those of us who sometimes get nervous or uneasy.
*Wash my face with coconut oil mixed with: peppermint, melaleuca, lavender, and Roman chamomile (this is in a jar in my shower)
I don’t wash my face every day, but when I do it’s with this blend and nothing else. No need for moisturizer either. I use a washcloth to rub it off while in the shower (or over the sink) and pat dry. Clean and moisturized skin with no chemicals.

 

*Spot treat with ClearSkin roller blend
Again, not necessarily everyday, just as needed. I’ve seen pimples disappear throughout the day since using this product.
*Apply homemade deodorant made with melaleuca, lemon, and lavender

The oils I use in my homemade deodorant vary, as does the recipe itself. I’m able to tolerate baking soda in small amounts now, whereas 3 months ago I couldn’t at all. The three oils mentioned are great, but you can also use doTERRA’s Purify blend, although it will have you smelling somewhat like a cintronella candle.

*Add lemon to water for flavor, detoxification, and mood improvement

A note of caution here, you should only use EO’s in a glass or stainless steel bottle as the acidity of the oil will eat away at the plastic over time. This stainless steel one is great, I have a similar one and it came with two lids: one for cold drinks and one for hot drinks! I also have a glass water bottle like this one.

Midday Essential Oil Routine

*Chew on 1-2 peppermint beadlets after lunch to freshen breath 

I’m not completely thrilled with the fact that doTERRA uses carrageenan and a few other “unpronouncables” in their beadlets, but I do love the convenience of being able to pop these in my mouth after lunch (or coffee at church, who likes sitting next to the coffee drinker during worship?!) to freshen my breath. So until I get around to making my own breath spray, these will have to do. They are still going to be better for you than your average breath mint or chewing gum.

*Apply peppermint around my ears and temples for headache

I don’t get headaches everyday, but when I do I’m so glad I have peppermint on hand. Be sure to keep away from eyes as peppermint is a “hot” oil and will burn the eyes if applied too close. I so love that we haven’t even used ibuprofen in our house for over a year!

*Diffuse Citrus Bliss to uplift mood, get through the 3 o’clock slump, and to simply keep my home smelling lovely

Instead of pouring a cup of Jo, I use any citrus oil to get me through the day, Citrus Bliss is a great blend made by doTERRA. If I’m at work, I’ll simply rub some on the back of my neck or inside my wrists. Essential oil diffusers like this one is a great tool for anyone with even one bottle of oil! Be mindful of where you apply citrus oils, they are photosensitive which means if you’re in the sun right after applying citrus oils you skin could change color. Just be sure to apply them in discreet places like the bottoms of feet or inside of wrists.

Evening Essential Oil Routine

 

*Post shower, rub melaleuca into scalp to help with flakes

Tea tree oil  is great for all kinds of skin issues. My husband and I both use it to help eliminate dandruff. Simply add 1-2 drops into the palms of your hand and rub into your wet scalp.
*Spot treat with ClearSkin roller blend
Same scenario as morning routine, use as needed. 
 
*Rub lavender and Deep Blue Rub on shoulders and neck for restful sleep

I carry a lot of tension throughout the day in my neck and shoulders so applying these two oils is a must for me. When I don’t apply them, I wake up with a very stiff neck.
*Apply Balance blend to bottoms of feet
I actually just added this blend into my routine. Balance is doTERRA’s grounding blend and is specifically designed to help our central nervous system. This blend is great for those of us who experience doubt, nervousness, or suffer from ADD/ADHD. If I don’t use the lavender+Deep Blue Rub on my neck and shoulders at night, I’ll use Balance.  
What are your go-to oils? Would you love to how oils can best help you? ask me about a Wellness Consultation today! 
One response to “My Daily Essential Oil Routine

  1. Pingback: Essential Oils: What do the Experts Say? | The Ezer Wife·

What do you think?

